05.05.2017 | Austria

S&T AG: Successful first quarter, Kontron turnaround proceeding as planned

- Revenues from sales rise to EUR 182,8 Mio (PY: EUR 96,4 million)
- EBITDA increases to EUR 12,2 million (PY: EUR 6,3 million)
- Kontron delivers profits

Linz, 05.05.2017. Through the consolidation of Kontron AG, S&T AG (www.snt.at) realized in the first quarter of 2017 new all-time highs for sales and at the same time earnings. As compared to 2016’s period of comparison, sales rose from EUR 96.4 million to EUR 182.8 million. The high gross margin of 39.3% is primarily based upon the altered portfolio of products and services. EBITDA was increased from EUR 6.3 million (Q1/2016) to EUR 12.2 million (Q1/2017). Consolidated income rose to EUR 3.8 million (PY: EUR 3.2 million).

Seasonal facts caused operative cash flow to be negative. It still improved to EUR -4.6 million as opposed to EUR -8.8 in previous year’s period of comparison. Liquid funds amounted to EUR 109.4 million as of March 31st 2017. Net cash position came to EUR 16.4 million (31.12.: 32.0 million). The costs of restructuring Kontron AG led in the first quarter of 2017 to cash outflows. The equity rate remained at a high level and came to 37.9% in the first quarter of 2017 as opposed to 36.0% at the end of 2016.

The turnaround of Kontron is proceeding as planned, Kontron already delivered profits in the first quarter of 2017. Implemented were measures to cut costs by EUR 18 million annually and already led to substantial reduction of expenditures in the first quarter. Not expected for the rest of 2017 are any further expenditures for restructuring. At the moment, S&T holds a 36.3% stake in Kontron. Kontron AG will hold a general meeting on 19th of June 2017. Its shareholders are to resolve the merger with S&T Deutschland Holding AG then.

The publication of the figures on the first quarter of 2017, also in respect to the progress of the turnaround of Kontron AG, is being accompanied by a substantial enhancement of the transparency of the reporting of the development of S&T's business in the financial year 2017. This is leading the management to confirm its forecast of attaining sales of more than EUR 860 to 890 million in the current financial year. EBTIDA is expected to rise substantially to more than EUR 50 million for the year as a whole. Envisioned for the financial year 2018 is the exceeding of the one billion Euro mark in sales!

On S&T AG:
S&T AG is listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange (www.snt.at, ISIN AT0000A0E9W5, WKN A0X9EJ, SANT) and forms part of the Exchange's TecDAX index of leading high-techs. The company has some 3,700 staff members working for the Group's subsidiaries and operations, which are located in more than 25 countries. S&T is one of the leading suppliers of IT systems, services and solutions in Central and Eastern Europe. In 2016, S&T took a stake in Kontron AG, one of the leaders on the world's market for embedded computers. This transaction enhanced S&T's already large portfolio of proprietary technologies. These are used in the areas of IT appliances, cloud security, software, smart energy, and Industry 4.0 and the Internet of Things (IoT) – a sector in which S&T forms the cutting edge.

05.05.2017 | Austria

S&T AG: Erfolgreiches erstes Quartal, Kontron-Turnaround im Plan

- Umsatzerlöse steigen auf EUR 182,8 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 96,4 Mio.)
- EBITDA erreicht EUR 12,2 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 6,3 Mio.)
- Kontron liefert positive Ergebnisbeiträge

Linz, 05.05.2017. Die S&T AG (www.snt.at) hat im ersten Quartal 2017 mit der Konsolidierung der Kontron AG neue Umsatzhöchstwerte bei zugleich steigenden Ergebniskennziffern erwirtschaftet. Der Umsatz stieg gegenüber dem Vergleichsquartal 2016 von EUR 96,4 Mio. auf EUR 182,8 Mio. Die hohe Bruttomarge von 39,3% basiert vor allem auf dem geänderten Produkt- und Dienstleistungsportfolio. Das EBITDA konnte von EUR 6,3 Mio. (Q1/2016) auf EUR 12,2 Mio. (Q1/2017) gesteigert werden, das Konzernergebnis erhöhte sich auf EUR 3,8 Mio. (Vj.: EUR 3,2 Mio.).

Der saisonal bedingt negative operative Cashflow verbesserte sich auf EUR -4,6 Mio. nach EUR -8,8 Mio. im Vergleichsquartal das Vorjahres. Die flüssigen Mittel betrugen zum 31.03. EUR 109,4 Mio. Die Net-Cash-Position betrugt EUR 16,4 Mio. (31.12.: 32,0 Mio.). Restrukturierungskosten der Kontron AG führten im ersten Quartal 2017 zu Cash-Abflüssen. Die Eigenkapitalquote lag im ersten Quartal mit 37,9% nach 36,0% zum Jahresende 2016 auf hohem Niveau.

Der Turnaround bei Kontron verläuft wie geplant, Kontron konnte im ersten Quartal 2017 bereits positive Gewinnbeiträge liefern. Maßnahmen zu Kostensenkungen in Höhe von EUR 18 Mio. jährlich wurden umgesetzt und führten im ersten Quartal 2017 bereits zu einer wesentlichen Reduktion der Aufwendungen. 2017 werden keine zusätzlichen Restrukturierungsaufwände erwartet. Zur Zeit hält S&T 36,3% der Kontron-Anteile, die Verschmelzung mit der S&T Deutschland Holding AG sollen die Kontron-Aktionäre auf der Hauptversammlung am 19. Juni 2017 beschliessen.

Mit Veröffentlichung der Zahlen zum ersten Quartal 2017 verbessert sich die Transparenz der Entwicklung im Lichte des fortgeschrittenen Turnarounds bei Kontron deutlich. In diesem Zusammenhang bestätigt das Management den Plan, die Umsätze der S&T AG 2017 auf EUR 860 bis 890 Mio. zu steigern. Das EBITDA von S&T soll 2017 deutlich auf über EUR 50 Mio. steigen. Für das Geschäftsjahr 2018 ist die Überschreitung der Umsatzmarke von 1 Milliarde EUR fest im Visier!


Über die S&T AG
Der Technologiekonzern S&T AG (www.snt.at, ISIN AT0000A0E9W5, WKN A0X9EJ, SANT) ist mit rund 3.700 Mitarbeitern und Niederlassungen in mehr als 25 Ländern weltweit niedergelassen. Als Systemhaus ist das an der Deutschen Börse und im TecDAX gelistete Unternehmen einer der führenden Anbieter von IT-Dienstleistungen und Lösungen in Zentral- und Osteuropa. 2016 ist S&T bei der Kontron AG – einem Weltmarktführer im Bereich Embedded Computer – eingestiegen und zählt nach dieser Transaktion mit einem weiter gewachsenen Portfolio an Eigentechnologie in den Bereichen Appliances, Cloud Security, Software und Smart Energy zu den international führenden Anbietern von Industrie-4.0- bzw. Internet-of-Things-Technologie.